Council Elections

2017 Election Results: Districts 5 and 10

District 5

County of Simcoe; the District Municipality of Muskoka and the regional municipalities of Durham, Peel and York: (2 positions)

  • Dr. David Rouselle was re-elected
  • Dr. Elizabeth Samson was elected

District 10

City of Toronto (4 positions)

  • Dr. Philip Berger was acclaimed
  • Dr. Haidar Mahmoud was acclaimed
  • Dr. Peeter Poldre was acclaimed
  • Dr. Patrick Safieh was acclaimed

Congratulations to all of the elected Councillors and thank you to all the candidates who ran in the 2017 district election.

Role of Council Members

Council members are elected to protect and serve the public interest. When elected to Council, Council members must bear in mind the tenets of medical regulation, and the College’s commitment to acting first and foremost in the interest of the public.

About Council

Dr. Carol LeetThe Council is the governing body of the College. The Regulated Health Professions Act stipulates that it consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members. Council is composed of 16 elected physicians, three academic physicians and 13-15 members of the public who are appointed by the provincial government.

Term of office: Maximum three years for elected physician members. Councillors may not serve more than three terms (nine consecutive years).

Council meetings: Four per year.

Committees: Each Council member is appointed to at least one committee. Time commitments vary by committee.

See Council and Committees