Council Elections

Council Elections in Districts 5 and 10 are now underway!

Voting is open from Thursday, September 18 to Tuesday, October 14 at 4:00 p.m.

District 5: County of Simcoe, the District Municipality of Muskoka and the regional municipalities of Durham, Peel and York: 2 positions

District 10: City of Toronto: 4 positions

On-line ballots have been distributed to elect Council representatives to the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario for Districts 5 and 10.

On-line voting is open from Thursday, September 18 to 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 14. Any votes/ballots received later than 4:00 p.m. on October 14, 2014, will be considered ineligible. Eligible voters will also receive information about the voting process in the election mailing.

Candidates will be notified of the results on Wednesday, October 15, 2014.

Online Voting

Last year, the district Council elections were conducted online for the first time using an electronic ballot distributed by email. The efficacy of this process resulted in approximately 35 per cent of eligible voters participating in the election — an increase of between 5 and 10 per cent over previous elections where voters were required to return paper ballots to the College. Feedback on the online voting process was overwhelmingly positive! The College is committed to continuous improvement of the Council election process to maximize efficiency and encourage participation.


Council members are elected to protect and serve the public interest. When elected to Council, Council members must bear in mind the tenets of self-regulation, and the College’s commitment to acting first and foremost in the interest of the public.

As part of the election process, an election mail out from the College advises eligible voters of the election, the election date, and the names of the candidates. Eligible voters will receive an on-line ballot. The ballot will contain a direct link to candidate bios. Information about the candidates can be found below.

The following candidates are running in the District 5 election:

The following candidates are running in the District 10 election:

About Council

Dr. Brenda CoppsThe Council is the governing body of the College. The Regulated Health Professions Act stipulates that it consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members. Council is composed of 16 elected physicians, three academic physician representatives and 13-15 members of the public who are appointed by government.

Term of office: Maximum three years for elected physician members. Councillors may not serve more than three terms (nine consecutive years).

Council meetings: Four or five per year.

Committees: Each Council member is appointed to one or more committees. Time commitments vary by committee.

Payment: Fees are set in the by-laws for participation in College activities. The current rate is $457 per half day, plus expenses such as travel and preparation time.

See Council and Committees