Access to Canadian Postgraduate Qualifications

Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS)

CaRMS works in close cooperation with the medical education community, medical schools and students, to provide an electronic application service and a computer match for entry into postgraduate medical training throughout Canada. IMGs may apply for entry to an Ontario residency program through CaRMS, provided they meet CaRMS eligibility requirements for Ontario. The eligibility requirements include Medical Council of Canada Evaluating Examiantion (MCCEE), Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), Test of Spoken English (TSE), and Canadian citizenship or permanent resident status. Link to website

Medical Council of Canada (MCC)

MCC administers the Medical Council of Canada Evaluating Examination (MCCEE) and the Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination (MCCQE) Parts 1 and 2. To be eligible for MCCQE Part 1, an International Medical Graduate (IMG) must pass the MCCEE. The MCCEE is held in various locations throughout Canada and the world, and is open to all IMGs holding an acceptable medical degree. For access to Part 2, both a pass standing on Part 1 and previous completion of twelve months of postgraduate training anywhere in the world are required. Link to website

College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)

The CFPC is the national examining and certifying body for family medicine practitioners in Canada. The CFPC also accredits family medicine training programs in Canada. Access to the CFPC examinations is gained through two routes: “residency-eligibility” or “practice-eligibility.” Residency-eligibility requires completion of 24 months of family medicine residency training in accredited programs in Canada or the United States. Practice-eligibility requires five years practice experience (of which the two most recent must be in Canada) and current possession of a license to practise in a province or territory in Canada. Access to CFPC certification is also gained through jurisdiction approved training route. International jurisdictions currently approved by the CFPC are United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and the USA. Link to website

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC)

RCPSC is the national examining and certifying body for medical specialists in Canada. The RCPSC also accredits Canadian specialty training programs. Access to RCPSC examinations is gained through completion, in Canada, of a RCPSC-accredited residency program. Access is also available through completion of an RCPSC-recognized residency programs in the United States. Limited access is available through completion of certain international specialty training programs that have been previously assessed and approved by the RCPSC. International jurisdictions in which postgraduate medical education system has been approved by the RCPSC are: Australia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Switzerland, Singapore, Hong Kong, New Zealand and South Africa. Link to website