Council Elections

Nominations for the 2018 District elections are now closed.

Candidates in Districts 6, 8 and 9 have been acclaimed. An election will be held in District 7. The following candidates have put their names forward to serve on the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons (with links to their election statements):

District 7: Counties of Dundas, Glengarry, Lanark, Prescott, Renfrew, Russell and Stormont, and the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton: 2 positions

The following candidates have been acclaimed:

District 6: Counties of Frontenac, Haliburton, Hastings, Leeds and Grenville, Lennox and Addington. 
Congratulations to Dr. John Rapin who will be returning to Council. 

District 8: Territorial districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury, and Timiskaming. 
Congratulations to Dr. Michael Franklyn who will be returning to Council.

District 9: Territorial districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay. 
Congratulations to Dr. Andrew Turner who will be returning to Council.

Online Voting

Polls will be open from Tuesday, September 18th to Tuesday, October 9th, 2018 at 4 p.m.  Ballots received after 4pm on October 9th will not be counted. Reminders will be sent to all eligible voters who have not voted throughout the voting period.

Role of Council Members

Council members are elected to protect and serve the public interest. When elected to Council, Council members must bear in mind the tenets of medical regulation, and the College’s commitment to acting first and foremost in the interest of the public.

About Council

Dr. Carol LeetThe Council is the governing body of the College of Physicians and Surgeons. The Regulated Health Professions Act stipulates that the Council consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members. Council is composed of 16 elected physicians, three academic physician representatives and 13-15 members of the public who are appointed by Government.

Term of office: Maximum three years for elected physician members. Councillors may not serve more than three terms (nine consecutive years).

Council meetings: Four per year.

Committees: Each Council member is appointed to at least one committee. Time commitments vary by committee.

Compensation: Council members are paid a fee, which is set by the Council’s by-laws. The current rate is $486 per half day, plus expenses such as travel and preparation time.

See Council and Committees