Council Elections

2018 Election Results: Districts 6, 7, 8 and 9

District 6: Counties of Frontenac, Haliburton, Hastings, Leeds and Grenville, Lennox and Addington, Northumberland, Peterborough, Prince Edward and Victoria. 
Dr. John Rapin was acclaimed. 

District 7: Counties of Dundas, Glengarry, Lanark, Prescott, Renfrew, Russell and Stormont, and the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton.
Dr. Judith Plante was re-elected.
Dr. Sarah Reid was elected.

District 8: Territorial districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury, and Timiskaming. 
Dr. Michael Franklyn was acclaimed.

District 9: Territorial districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay. 
Dr. Andrew Turner was acclaimed.

Congratulations to all of the elected and acclaimed Council members and thank you to all the candidates who ran in the 2018 district elections.

Role of Council Members

Council members are elected to protect and serve the public interest. When elected to Council, Council members must bear in mind the tenets of medical regulation, and the College’s commitment to acting first and foremost in the interest of the public.

About Council

Dr. Carol LeetThe Council is the governing body of the College of Physicians and Surgeons. The Regulated Health Professions Act stipulates that the Council consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members. Council is composed of 16 elected physicians, three academic physician representatives and 13-15 members of the public who are appointed by Government.

Term of office: Maximum three years for elected physician members. Councillor members may not serve more than three terms (nine consecutive years).

Council meetings: Four per year.

Committees: Each Council member is appointed to at least one committee. Time commitments vary by committee.

See Council and Committees