skip to content

Council Elections

The nomination deadline for the 2019 CPSO Council election is Tuesday, August 27 at 4 p.m. and on-line voting occurs from September 24 to October 15, 2019.

Print page icon

Four districts will be a part of the 2019 CPSO Council election:

  • District 1: Counties of Essex, Kent and Lambton: 1 position
  • District 2: Counties of Elgin, Huron, Middlesex, Oxford and Perth: 1 position
  • District 3: Counties of Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Wellington and regional municipality of Waterloo: 1 position
  • District 4: County of Brant and the regional municipalities of Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth and Niagara: 2 positions

If you primarily practise in one of these districts, this is your opportunity to run for a seat at the Council table and participate in the regulation of medicine. Even if you no longer practise medicine, you may run in one of these districts if you live in that district and are still a College member.

Make your voice heard. Run in the upcoming election for Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4.
Begin your nomination process!

Photo of CPSO past president Steve Bodley“This represents an exciting time to consider running for Council. It has always been an interesting and satisfying experience, but with the recent development of a new Strategic Plan for the CPSO along with the impressive work done by Dr. Nancy Whitmore, our new Registrar, we are entering a particularly exciting period.

I urge you to put your name forward for Council. In addition to being a rewarding experience, it is important to have physicians as an integral part of the management of Medical Regulation. Oversight of this process is critical to how we all practice medicine and essential to ensure the public is well served by our daily practice.”

~ Steve Bodley, MD, FRCPC, Past President


Role of Council Members

Council members are elected to protect and serve the public interest. When elected to Council, Council members must bear in mind the tenets of medical regulation, and the College’s commitment to acting first and foremost in the interest of the public.

About Council

The Council is the governing body of the College of Physicians and Surgeons. The Regulated Health Professions Act stipulates that the Council consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members. Council is composed of 16 elected physicians, three academic physician representatives and 13-15 members of the public who are appointed by Government.

Term of office: Maximum three years for elected physician members. Councillor members may not serve more than three terms (nine consecutive years).

Council meetings: Four per year.

Committees: Each Council member is appointed to at least one committee. Time commitments vary by committee.