skip to content

College Leadership

Print page icon

Dr. Nancy Whitmore, Registrar/CEO of the CPSO

Dr. Nancy Whitmore joined the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) as Registrar and CEO in June 2018 and embarked on a transformational journey. With a strategic focus on the corporate vision of “Trusted Doctors Providing Great Care,“ Dr. Whitmore implemented Right-Touch Regulation enabled by Lean principles across all core regulatory functions at the CPSO. Simultaneously, the CPSO created and implemented a new, modern business infrastructure making it the first fully-digital regulator in Canada.

Throughout her career, Dr. Whitmore has held numerous leadership positions. Prior to her role at CPSO she served as President and CEO of St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital, where she also served as Vice-President and Chief of Staff. Dr. Whitmore was instrumental in the implementation of substantial process improvements throughout the hospital and played a key role in making St. Thomas Elgin General Hospital an award-winning facility for efficient, high-quality care.

Dr. Whitmore received her medical degree from the University of Manitoba and completed her obstetrics and gynecology residency at Western University. She is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and a graduate of the MBA program at the Richard Ivey School of Business at Western University. As an avid lifelong learner, Dr. Whitmore has also completed the Executive Training for Research Application (EXTRA) Program at the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation, where her project work focused on Lean process redesign in health care and its role improving quality of care and patient safety.