Passer au contenu principal

Obligations professionnelles et droits de la personne

Icône d’impression de la page

Approuvé par le Conseil : Septembre 2008
Révisé et mis à jour : Mars 2015

Ressource complémentaire : Conseils à la profession

 

Les politiques de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (l’« Ordre ») définissent les attentes relatives à l’éthique professionnelle des médecins qui exercent en Ontario. Ces politiques, ainsi que le Guide sur la pratique et les dispositions législatives et la jurisprudence pertinentes, seront utilisés par l’Ordre et ses comités afin d’évaluer la pratique et la conduite des médecins.

Dans les politiques, les termes « doit » et « recommandé », ainsi que leurs déclinaisons, sont utilisés pour exprimer les attentes de l’Ordre. Quand le terme « recommandé » est utilisé, les médecins peuvent faire preuve de discernement pour appliquer ou non cette pratique.

On trouvera, dans les ressources complémentaires, d’autres renseignements, des conseils généraux et des pratiques exemplaires, par exemple sous forme de documents de conseils à la profession.

 

Définitions

Discrimination : un acte, une décision ou une communication qui se traduit par le traitement injuste d’une personne ou d’un groupe, soit en lui imposant un fardeau, soit en lui refusant un droit, un privilège, un avantage ou une occasion dont d’autres bénéficient. Elle peut être directe et intentionnelle, ou elle peut être totalement accidentelle dans les cas où des règles, des pratiques ou des procédures qui semblent neutres ont un effet défavorable sur certains groupes de personnes.

Aiguillage efficace : la prise de mesures positives pour s’assurer que le patient est mis en relation1 avec un médecin, un autre professionnel de la santé ou une agence qui ne s’y oppose pas, qui est disponible et qui est accessible2, 3. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur un aiguillage efficace, veuillez consulter le document Conseils à la profession.

 

Politique

Attentes générales

  1. Les médecins doivent agir dans l’intérêt de leurs patients4.
    1. Ce faisant, les médecins doivent s’efforcer de créer et de favoriser un environnement dans lequel les droits, l’autonomie, la dignité et la diversité de tous les patients actuels ou potentiels sont respectés.

Droits de la personne, discrimination et accès aux soins

  1. Les médecins doivent respecter le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le « Code »)5 et les attentes de l’Ordre lors de la prise de toute décision en matière de prestation de services de santé. Cela signifie que les médecins doivent s’abstenir de faire preuve de discrimination, directement ou indirectement, pour un motif protégé en vertu du Code, par exemple dans les situations suivantes :
    1. lorsqu’ils acceptent ou refusent une personne en tant que patient;
    2. lorsqu’ils fournissent des soins ou des services de santé à des patients existants;
    3. lorsqu’ils fournissent des renseignements ou des aiguillages à des patients existants ou à ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients;
    4. lorsqu’ils mettent fin à une relation médecin-patient.

L’obligation d’accommodement

  1. Les médecins doivent prendre des mesures raisonnables pour répondre aux besoins de patients existants ou de ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients, lorsque leur accès aux soins peut être entravé ou limité par un handicap6 ou une autre situation personnelle qui limite leur accès aux soins7. L’objectif est d’éliminer ou de réduire les barrières ou les obstacles que les patients peuvent rencontrer.
  2. Les médecins doivent respecter leur obligation d’accommodement, comme elle est énoncée dans le Code, et faire des accommodements8 d’une façon qui respecte la dignité, l’autonomie et la vie privée d’une personne, sauf si l’accommodement aurait les conséquences suivantes :
    1. assujettir le médecin à un préjudice injustifié, p. ex., en entraînant des coûts excessifs ou des préoccupations pour la santé ou la sécurité;
    2. interférer de manière significative avec les droits légaux d’autrui9.

Limitation des services de santé pour des motifs légitimes

L’obligation d’éviter toute discrimination n’empêche pas les médecins de limiter pour des raisons légitimes les services de santé qu’ils prodiguent (p. ex., parce que les soins ne relèvent pas de leur compétence clinique ou sont contraires à leur conscience ou à leurs croyances religieuses)10.

  1. Bien que les médecins puissent, pour des raisons légitimes, limiter les services de santé qu’ils prodiguent, ils doivent le faire d’une façon qui respecte la dignité et l’autonomie des patients, qui respecte leur obligation fiduciaire envers les patients, et qui ne nuit pas à un accès équitable aux soins pour les patients existants ou ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients.

Compétence clinique

L’obligation d’éviter toute discrimination n’empêche pas les médecins de prendre des décisions qui relèvent de leur propre compétence clinique dans le cadre de l’exercice de la médecine11.

  1. Les médecins doivent prodiguer aux patients des soins de santé de qualité de façon sécuritaire. Si les médecins estiment qu’ils ne peuvent pas répondre de façon appropriée aux besoins en matière de soins de santé de patients existants ou de ceux qui souhaitent devenir des patients, ils ne sont pas tenus de fournir le service de santé en question ou d’accepter la personne en question comme patient. Plus spécifiquement, les médecins doivent :
    1. respecter le Code et les attentes de l’Ordre;
    2. prendre de bonne foi toute décision de limiter la prestation de services de santé pour des raisons de compétence clinique12.
  2. Lorsque la compétence clinique peut limiter le type de services ou de traitements fournis, ou encore le type de patients qu’un médecin est en mesure d’accepter, celui-ci doit en informer les patients le plus tôt possible.
    1. Les médecins doivent communiquer cette information de façon claire et directe, afin que les personnes ou les patients comprennent que leur décision est fondée sur un manque réel de compétence clinique et non sur un parti pris discriminatoire ou des préjugés.
  3. Pour protéger l’intérêt des patients et éviter l’abandon de patients existants ou de ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients, les médecins doivent fournir un aiguillage à un autre fournisseur de soins de santé approprié concernant les éléments des soins qu’ils ne sont pas en mesure de gérer directement.

Conscience ou croyances religieuses

L’Ordre reconnaît le droit des médecins à limiter les services de santé qu’ils prodiguent pour des raisons de conscience ou de religion.

Toutefois, la liberté de conscience et de religion des médecins doit être mise en balance avec le droit des patients existants et potentiels à accéder aux soins. La Cour d’appel de l’Ontario a confirmé que lorsqu’un conflit irréconciliable survient entre l’intérêt d’un médecin et celui d’un patient, les obligations professionnelles et le devoir fiduciaire des médecins exigent que l’intérêt du patient prévale13.

L’Ordre a défini des attentes, exposées ci-dessous, pour les médecins qui ont une objection de conscience ou religieuse à la prestation de certains services de santé. Ces attentes tiennent compte des droits des médecins objecteurs dans toute la mesure du possible, tout en veillant à ce que l’accès des patients aux soins de santé ne soit pas entravé.

  1. Lorsqu’un médecin décide de limiter les services de santé qu’il fournit pour des raisons de conscience ou de religion, il doit le faire d’une manière qui respecte la dignité du patient, veille à son accès aux soins et protège sa sécurité.

Respect de la dignité des patients

  1. Lorsque les médecins s’opposent à prodiguer certains éléments des soins pour des raisons de conscience ou de religion, ils doivent communiquer leurs objections de façon directe et sensible aux patients existants, ou à ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients, et leur expliquer que leur objection a des motifs personnels et non cliniques.
  2. Lorsqu’il explique son objection, le médecin ne doit pas exprimer de jugements moraux personnels concernant les convictions, le mode de vie, l’identité ou les caractéristiques des patients existants ou de ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients. Il ne doit donc pas refuser ou retarder un traitement parce qu’il estime que les actions du patient ont contribué à son état.
    1. De plus, les médecins ne doivent ni promouvoir14 leurs propres convictions religieuses lors de leurs interactions avec les patients ou avec ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients, ni tenter de les convertir.

Assurer l’accès aux soins

  1. Les médecins doivent fournir des renseignements sur toutes les options cliniques qui pourraient être disponibles ou appropriées pour répondre aux besoins cliniques ou aux préoccupations des patients.
  2. Les médecins ne doivent pas taire de renseignements concernant l’existence d’une intervention ou d’un traitement parce que cela va à l’encontre de leur conscience ou de leurs convictions religieuses. 
  3. Lorsqu’un médecin refuse de fournir certains éléments de soins pour des raisons de conscience ou de religion, il doit fournir au patient un aiguillage efficace.
    1. Les médecins doivent fournir un aiguillage efficace dans les plus brefs délais pour que le patient puisse bénéficier de l’accès aux soins.
    2. Les médecins ne doivent pas exposer les patients à des résultats cliniques négatifs en raison d’un aiguillage retardé.
  4. Les médecins ne doivent pas nuire à l’accès aux soins des patients existants ou de ceux qui cherchent à devenir des patients.
  5. Les médecins doivent maintenir de façon proactive un plan d’aiguillage efficace pour les services fréquemment demandés qu’ils sont peu disposés à fournir.

Protection de la sécurité des patients

  1. Les médecins doivent fournir des soins en cas d’urgence lorsqu’ils sont nécessaires pour prévenir des torts immédiats, même lorsque ces soins vont à l’encontre de leur conscience ou de leurs convictions religieuses15.
 

Notes de fin

1. Un aiguillage efficace implique parfois, mais pas dans toutes les circonstances, un aiguillage au sens clinique formel, et ne nécessite pas non plus que le médecin procède à une évaluation du patient pour déterminer s’il est un candidat approprié pour le traitement auquel il s’oppose.

2. « Disponible et accessible » signifie que le fournisseur de soins de santé doit se trouver dans un endroit accessible au patient et être en activité ou accepter des patients au moment où l’aiguillage efficace est effectué.

3. En milieu hospitalier, les pratiques peuvent varier selon les politiques et les procédures de l’hôpital.

4. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le Guide sur la pratique de l’Ordre.

5. Code des droits de la personne, L.R.O. 1990, chap. H.19 (le « Code»). Le Code formule le droit de chaque résident de l’Ontario à bénéficier d’un traitement égal en ce qui concerne les services, les biens et les installations, sans discrimination pour des motifs de race, d’ascendance, de lieu d’origine, de couleur, d’origine ethnique, de citoyenneté, de croyance, de sexe, d’orientation sexuelle, d’identité sexuelle, d’expression sexuelle, d’âge, d’état matrimonial, de situation familiale ou de handicap. En vertu du Code, tous ceux qui fournissent des services en Ontario, y compris les médecins qui fournissent des services de santé, doivent le faire sans faire preuve de discrimination volontaire ou involontaire.

6. Le terme « handicap » est défini à l’article 10 du Code et comprend tout degré d’incapacité, d’infirmité, de malformation ou de défiguration physique; un état de déficience mentale ou un trouble du développement; un trouble d’apprentissage ou un dysfonctionnement d’un ou de plusieurs des processus impliqués dans la compréhension ou l’utilisation de symboles ou du langage parlé; un trouble mental; ou une blessure ou un handicap pour lequel des prestations ont été demandées ou reçues en vertu du régime d’assurance établi en vertu de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail.

7. Le Code, L.R.O. 1990, chap. H.19.

8. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les accommodements, consulter le document Conseils à la profession.

9. Une explication plus poussée de « préjudice injustifié » est fournie dans la Politique et les directives concernant le handicap et l’obligation d’accommodement de la Commission des droits de la personne de l’Ontario.

10. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir les politiques de l’Ordre sur l’acceptation de nouveaux patients et comment mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient.

11. Cette section de la politique reflète l’attente générale de l’Ordre selon laquelle les médecins travaillent toujours dans les limites de leurs connaissances, de leurs compétences et de leur jugement.

12. Comme l’indique la politique de l’Ordre sur l’acceptation de nouveaux patients, les médecins ne doivent pas utiliser la compétence clinique ou le champ d’exercice comme motif de discrimination contre les patients éventuels ou pour refuser des patients :

  1. qui ont des besoins en matière de santé complexes ou chroniques;
  2. qui ont des antécédents de prescription d’opioïdes ou de médicaments psychotropes;
  3. qui exigent plus de temps qu’un autre patient dont les besoins médicaux sont moins importants;
  4. qui souffrent d’une blessure ou d’un handicap ou sont atteints d’un trouble médical ou psychiatrique qui pourrait exiger que le médecin prépare et fournisse des documents ou des rapports supplémentaires [notes de bas de page omises].

13. Voir par. 187 Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada v. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, 2019 ONCA 393.

14. Cela inclut le fait de laisser entendre que la religion du médecin est supérieure aux croyances du patient (spirituelles, laïques ou religieuses).

15. Cette attente est conforme à la politique de l’Ordre sur la prestation de services par les médecins pendant les conflits de travail. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements relatifs à la prestation de soins lors d’urgences en matière de santé, veuillez consulter la politique de l’Ordre sur les médecins et les urgences en matière de santé.

skip to content

Professional Obligations and Human Rights

Print page icon

Approved by Council: September 2008
Reviewed and Updated: March 2015

Companion Resource: Advice to the Profession

 

Policies of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (the “College”) set out expectations for the professional conduct of physicians practising in Ontario. Together with the Practice Guide and relevant legislation and case law, they will be used by the College and its Committees when considering physician practice or conduct.

Within policies, the terms ‘must’ and ‘advised’ are used to articulate the College’s expectations. When ‘advised’ is used, it indicates that physicians can use reasonable discretion when applying this expectation to practice.

 

Definitions

Discrimination: an act, decision, or communication that results in the unfair treatment of a person or group by either imposing a burden on them, or denying them a right, privilege, benefit or opportunity enjoyed by others. Discrimination may be direct and intentional; it may also be entirely unintentional, where rules, practices or procedures appear neutral but have the effect of disadvantaging certain groups of people.

Effective referral: taking positive action to ensure the patient is connected1 to a non-objecting, available, and accessible2 physician, other health-care professional, or agency.3 For more information about an effective referral, see the companion Advice to the Profession document.

 

Policy

General Expectations

  1. Physicians must act in their patients’ best interests.4
    1. In doing so, physicians must strive to create and foster an environment in which the rights, autonomy, dignity and diversity of all patients, or those seeking to become patients, are respected.

Human Rights, Discrimination, and Access to Care

  1. Physicians must comply with the Ontario Human Rights Code (the “Code”),5 and the expectations of the College, when making any decision relating to the provision of health services. This means that physicians must not discriminate, either directly or indirectly, based on a protected ground under the Code when, for example:
    1. accepting or refusing individuals as patients;
    2. providing existing patients with health care or services;
    3. providing information or referrals to existing patients or those seeking to become patients; and/or
    4. ending the physician-patient relationship.

The Duty to Accommodate

  1. Physicians must take reasonable steps to accommodate the needs of existing patients, or those seeking to become patients, where a disability6 or other personal circumstance may impede or limit their access to care.7 The purpose in doing so is to eliminate or reduce any barriers or obstacles that patients may experience.
  2. Physicians must comply with their duty to accommodate as set out in the Code, and to make accommodations8 in a manner that is respectful of the dignity, autonomy and privacy of the person, unless the accommodation would
    1. subject the physician to undue hardship, i.e. where excessive cost, health or safety concerns would result; or
    2. significantly interfere with the legal rights of others.9

Limiting Health Services for Legitimate Reasons

The duty to refrain from discrimination does not prevent physicians from limiting the health services they provide for legitimate reasons (for instance, because the care is outside their clinical competence or contrary to their conscience or religious beliefs).10

  1. While physicians may limit the health services they provide for legitimate reasons, they must do so in a manner that respects patient dignity and autonomy, upholds their fiduciary duty to the patient, and does not impede equitable access to care for existing patients, or those seeking to become patients.

Clinical Competence

The duty to refrain from discrimination does not prevent physicians from making decisions in the course of practicing medicine that are related to their own clinical competence.11

  1. Physicians must provide patients with quality health care in a safe manner. If physicians feel they cannot appropriately meet the health-care needs of an existing patient, or those who wish to become patients, they are not required to provide that specific health service or to accept that person as a patient. However, physicians must:
    1. comply with the Code, and College expectations, in so doing; and
    2. make any decision to limit the provision of health services on the basis of clinical competence in good faith.12
  2. Where clinical competence may restrict the type of services or treatments provided, or the type of patients a physician is able to accept, physicians must inform patients of this as soon as is reasonable.
    1. Physicians must communicate this information in a clear and straightforward manner to ensure that individuals or patients understand that their decision is based on an actual lack of clinical competence rather than discriminatory bias or prejudice, which will lessen the likelihood of misunderstandings.
  3. In order to protect patients’ best interests and to ensure that existing patients (or those seeking to become patients) are not abandoned, physicians must provide a referral to another appropriate health-care provider for the elements of care the physician is unable to manage directly.

Conscience or Religious Beliefs

The College recognizes that physicians have the right to limit the health services they provide for reasons of conscience or religion.

However, physicians’ freedom of conscience and religion must be balanced against the right of existing and potential patients to access care. The Court of Appeal for Ontario has confirmed that where an irreconcilable conflict arises between a physician’s interest and a patient’s interest, physicians’ professional obligations and fiduciary duty require that the interest of the patient prevails.13

The College has outlined expectations, set out below, for physicians who have a conscientious or religious objection to the provision of certain health services. These expectations accommodate the rights of objecting physicians to the greatest extent possible, while ensuring that patients’ access to healthcare is not impeded.

  1. Where they choose to limit the health services they provide for reasons of conscience or religion, physicians must to do so in a manner that respects patient dignity, ensures access to care, and protects patient safety.

Respecting Patient Dignity

  1. Where physicians object to providing certain elements of care for reasons of conscience or religion, they must communicate their objection directly and with sensitivity to existing patients, or those seeking to become patients, and inform them that the objection is due to personal and not clinical reasons.
  2. In the course of communicating their objection, physicians must not express personal moral judgments about the beliefs, lifestyle, identity, or characteristics of existing patients, or those seeking to become patients. This includes not refusing or delaying treatment because the physician believes the patient’s own actions have contributed to their condition.
    1. Furthermore, physicians must not promote14 their own religious beliefs when interacting with patients, or those seeking to become patients, nor attempt to convert them.

Ensuring Access to Care

  1. Physicians must provide information about all clinical options that may be available or appropriate to meet patients’ clinical needs or concerns.
  2. Physicians must not withhold information about the existence of any procedure or treatment because it conflicts with their conscience or religious beliefs. 
  3. Where physicians are unwilling to provide certain elements of care for reasons of conscience or religion, they must provide the patient with an effective referral.
    1. Physicians must provide the effective referral in a timely manner to allow patients to access care.
    2. Physicians must not expose patients to adverse clinical outcomes due to a delayed effective referral.
  4. Physicians must not impede access to care for existing patients, or those seeking to become patients.
  5. Physicians must proactively maintain an effective referral plan for the frequently requested services they are unwilling to provide.

Protecting Patient Safety

  1. Physicians must provide care in an emergency, where it is necessary to prevent imminent harm, even where that care conflicts with their conscience or religious beliefs.15
 

Endnotes

1. An effective referral does not necessarily, but may in certain circumstances, involve a ‘referral’ in the formal clinical sense, nor does it necessarily require that the physician conduct an assessment of the patient to determine whether they are a suitable candidate for the treatment to which they object.

2. ‘Available and accessible’ means that the health-care provider must be in a location the patient can access, and operating and/or accepting patients at the time the effective referral is made.

3. In the hospital setting, practices may vary in accordance with hospital policies and procedures.

4. Please see the College’s Practice Guide for further details.

5. Human Rights Code, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.19 (the “Code”). The Code articulates the right of every Ontario resident to receive equal treatment with respect to services, goods and facilities – including health services – without discrimination on the grounds of race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, marital status, family status or disability. The Code requires that all those who provide services in Ontario, including physicians providing health services, do so free from discrimination, whether intentional or unintentional.

6. “Disability” is defined in s. 10 of the Code and includes any degree of physical disability, infirmity, malformation, or disfigurement; a condition of mental impairment or a developmental disability; a learning disability, or a dysfunction in one or more of the processes involved in understanding or using symbols or spoken language; a mental disorder; or an injury or disability for which benefits were claimed or received under the insurance plan established under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997.

7. The Code, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.19.

8. Please see the Advice to the Profession document for guidance about the duty to accommodate.

9. Further explanation of “undue hardship” is provided in the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s Policy and Guidelines on Disability and the Duty to Accommodate.

10. For more information see the College’s Accepting New Patients and Ending the Physician-Patient Relationship policies.

11. This section of the policy reflects the College’s general expectation that physicians will always practice within the limits of their own knowledge, skill, and judgment.

12. As stated in the College’s Accepting New Patients policy, “Physicians must not use clinical competence and/or scope of practice as a means of discriminating against prospective patients or to refuse patients:

  1. with complex or chronic health needs;
  2. with a history of prescribed opioids and/or psychotropic medication;
  3. requiring more time than another patient with fewer medical needs; or
  4. with an injury, medical condition, psychiatric condition or disability that may require the physician to prepare and provide additional documentation or reports [footnotes omitted].”

13. See para. 187 Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada v. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, 2019 ONCA 393.

14. This includes implying that the physician’s religion is superior to the patient’s beliefs (spiritual, secular or religious).

15. This expectation is consistent with the College’s Providing Physician Services During Job Actions policy. For further information specific to providing care in health emergencies, please see the College’s Public Health Emergencies policy.