skip to content

Meet the Board

Print page icon

From the Board Chair

It is my honour and privilege to serve as Chair of the CPSO Board of Directors for 2024. In doing so, I thank my predecessor, Dr. Rob Gratton, for his inspiring leadership, and I look forward to working closely with him and my Board colleagues over the year ahead.

Ontario’s health care sector, including the College, faces several challenges as we emerge from the pandemic. In doing so, CPSO is seizing the opportunities these issues present for us to find innovative solutions and continue our forward momentum in support of immediate and long-term goals. As the province’s medical regulator, our focus is steadfast on preserving the integrity of regulation while recognizing the pressures that registrants face as we respond to concerns of the patient and the physician to uphold the well-earned public trust in the profession.

CPSO electoral district map representing 10 districts
Electoral district map. Click to enlarge.

We also recognize the sheer scope of the health human resource crisis here in Ontario and the real concern about physician shortages, especially in underserviced areas. The College remains committed to streamlining pathways to licensure and doing everything we can to get more physicians into active practice across the province, especially in the places where they are needed most.

We also need to continue looking at inequities in the current health system and developing a future health system with an equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) lens focused on marginalized and traditionally disadvantaged groups. We have made some great strides at the College in this area over the last few years, and I look forward to us continuing this work in the year ahead.

Lastly, I would like to commend our Board Directors, as well as the College’s senior leadership team and the staff who support them, for embedding the principles of right-touch regulation into everything we do. Right-touch regulation has been our guiding light since its adoption five years ago as we fulfill the College’s vision of trusted doctors providing great care, and I am confident that this focus will continue to serve the medical profession as we move forward.

Dr. Ian Preyra
Board Chair— Electoral District 4

Elected Professional Directors

Dr. Baraa Achtar
Dr. Madhu Azad
Dr. Glen Bandiera (Toronto)
Dr. Robert Gratton
Dr. Camille Lemieux (Toronto)
Dr. Lionel Marks de Chabris
Dr. Carys Massarella
Dr. Judith Plante
Dr. Rupa Patel
Dr. Sarah Reid
Dr. Deborah Robertson (Toronto)
Dr. Patrick Safieh
Dr. Andrea Steen
Dr. Anne Walsh (Newmarket)
Dr. Mitchell Whyne (Barrie)

Public Directors

Lucy Becker, Toronto
Faiq Bilal, Milton
Stephen Bird, Perth
Jose Cordeiro, Markham
Markus de Domenico, Etobicoke
Joan Fisk
Murthy Ghandikota, Toronto
Paul Malette, Toronto
Lydia Miljan, Kingsville
Rob Payne, King City
Linda Robbins, Ajax
Fred Sherman, Ottawa
Anu Srivastava
Shannon Weber, Waterloo

Academic Representatives

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier
Dr. Roy Kirkpatrick, Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Dr. P. Andrea Lum
Dr. Karen Saperson, McMaster University
Dr. Katina Tzanetos
Dr. Janet van Vlymen